Croatia to join euro area on 1 January 2023

July 12,the Council of the European Union formally approved the accession of Croatia to the euro area on 1 January 2023 and determined a Croatian kuna conversion rate of 7.53450 per euro – this coincides with the level of the current central rate of the kuna in the exchange rate mechanism (ERM II). The European Central Bank (ECB) and Hrvatska narodna banka agreed to monitor developments in the Croatian kuna against the euro on the foreign exchange market until 1 January 2023.
With the entry into force of the close cooperation framework between the ECB and Hrvatska narodna banka on 1 October 2020, the ECB became responsible for directly supervising eight significant institutions and overseeing 15 less significant institutions in Croatia.