Economic and Monetary Affairs MEPs finish their visit to Washington, D.C.

Members of the Economic and Monetary Affairs Committee (ECON) concluded a five-day visit to Washington, D.C. led by the Committee Chair Irene Tinagli.
On 17-21 July 2022 the ECON delegation met with legislators, government officials, US regulatory agencies and businesses.
At the conclusion of the visit, ECON Committee Chair Irene Tinagli said: “Amid ongoing war in Ukraine and worsening global economic situation, the EU-US cooperation is more important than ever. We held fruitful discussions with our US counterparts as regards economic recovery policies, response to high inflationary pressure and sanctions against Russia. The ECON delegation also appreciated dialogue with US regulatory agencies on approaches towards financial services regulation, banking, crypto currencies, sustainable finance, competition and anti-money laundering.”
The delegation met with Members of Congress from both Republican and Democratic parties: Senators Bill Cassidy (R-Louisiana) and Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyoming), as well as House Representatives David Cicilline (D-Rhode Island), Chair of the Subcommittee on Antitrust, Commercial and Administrative Law, Brad Sherman (D-California), Bill Huizenga (R-Michigan), Ed Perlmutter (D-Colorado) and Blaine Luetkemeyer (R-Missouri).
The delegation also met with Members of President Biden’s cabinet, namely with Cecilia Rouse, Chair of the Council of Economic Advisors and Shalanda Young, Director of the Office of Management and Budget, with Brent Nieman, Special Counselor at the US Department of Treasury, with Pierre-Olivier Gournichas, Chief Economist of the International Monetary Fund as well as stakeholders from the private sector. Further meetings took place with the heads of US regulatory agencies in the area of banking, deposit insurance, commodities and securities, competition and antitrust, and anti-money laundering.
Amongst other tasks, the European Parliament’s ECON committee is responsible for the EU’s economic and monetary policies, for co-writing rules on the regulation and supervision of financial services, institutions and markets including crypto currencies, sustainable finance and anti-money laundering.
Participating ECON Members
Irene TINAGLI, ECON Chair, S&D
Stéphanie YON-COURTIN, ECON Vice-Chair, Renew
Danuta HÜBNER, EPP (remote participation in some meetings)
Henrike HAHN, Greens/EFA
Gunnar BECK, ID